Posted on

Club honors former president with contest

Club honors former president with contest Club honors former president with contest


On March 26, the Leisure World Pool Club held a special eight-ballbank-shottournament honoring Mike Mooney, who recently died after a long illness.

Mooney had been president of the Pool Club, and since he was good at bank shots, the club decided to award $30 to the player who made the most bank shots during the six-round tournament. When his widow, Sandra “Sam” Mooney, learned of the award, she offered to increase the winnings to $100.

At the tournament, the club presented both Sam Mooney and Zelma Berkenkamp, whose husband, Wayne, was also an avid pool player, with orchids.

Bill Clawson and partner Zelma Berkenkamp won their first five games to assure them a tie for first place, but they lost the sixth and final game. Tom Zimmerman and Dave Mackinder won their last game, as did Dave Silva and Guta Basner, and the tournament ended in an unusual three-way tie for first place. The race for making the Mike Mooney Invitational Pocketed Bank Shot Award during the six games ended in a four-way tie, with Zimmerman, Steve Edrich, Kurt Bourhenne and Silva each scoring three bank shots. Bank shots are rarely made in eightball, as a player usually has an easier shot available. After Pool League play on March 26, a new team took the lead. The Favorites trailed Jokers Wild by one game and won 11 games while losing only two. That gave the Favorites a seven-game lead over the Pocket Rockets, who moved into second place. Silva won all seven of his games; teammates Gary Snow and Shery Wells won six and five, respectively. The Ball Busters took Beat the House 8-5. Dennis Bedford won five games for the Ball Busters, including both of his singles matches.

Ticket to Ride edged Team Five by 7-6. Connie Tery won four games, plus her eight- and nine-ball matches.

The Pocket Rockets won a close match against Side Pockets 7-6. It was a team effort by the Pocket Rockets, with Rusty Aquino winning five and teammates George Gordon and Connie Adkins each winning four.

The Pool League plays every Monday starting at 1:30 p.m. in the Clubhouse 2 poolroom. For more information, LWers can contact club President Dave Silva at (562) 209-3183 or Secretary/Treasurer Eunis “WildFire!” Christensen at (562) 879-1954.

—Dave Silva

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *